Current Members


Driss El Yazami, Morocco

Chairman of the National Human Rights Council (CNDH) in Morocco, former Member of the Equity and Reconciliation Commission (Moroccan truth and reconciliation commission).


Christine M. Merkel, Germany

Head of Department for Culture and Communication (Memory of the World), German Commission for UNESCO.


Eskil Trolle, Denmark

Lawyer, Partner Bech-Bruun.


Ordinary Members

Khémaïs Chammari, Tunisia

Former Ambassador of Tunisia to the UNESCO, Former member of the Tunisian Parliament, Nuremberg Human Rights Prize Winner.


Bahey El Din Hassan, Egypt

Co-founder and Director of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS), recipient of the Annual Journalism Award from the Egyptian Press Syndicate in 1987 and HRW Annual Award of Human Rights Monitor in 1993.


Kamel Jendoubi, Tunisia

Minister in charge of Relations with Constitutional Bodies, Civil Society and Human Rights.


Hanny Megally, Egypt

Former Chief of Asia, Pacific, Middle-East and North Africa in the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).


Lynn Welchman, United Kingdom

Professor of Law at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), Member of the Board at the International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights, Member of the Founding Editorial Board, Muslim World Journal of Human Rights


Leila Rhiwi, Morocco

Representative UN Women Multi-Country Office for the Maghreb.


Bassma Kodmani, Syria

Co-founder and Executive Director of Arab Reform Initiative (ARI), Associate Professor of International Relations at Paris University.

Souhayr Belhassan, Tunisia

Journalist and Former President of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH).

Marc Schade-Poulsen, Denmark

Anthropologist and Executive Director of EuroMed Rights – the Euro-Mediterranean Human Rights Network.